NEW UPDATE!

 

05/22/17: Texas Tribute column on SB 354

-

05/04/17: SB 354 is pending.

-

04/28/17: SB 354 hearing has been set! May 2nd at 9am. Capitol room E1.028. Come and Support the bill! Wear Turquoise!

-

04/24/17: View the newest version of the bill (committee substitute) click here!

Vote YES

SB354 HB3253

Relating to language acquisition for children less than eight years of age

who are deaf or hard of hearing.

Myth #1

 

LEAD-K is a mandate for American Sign Language!

FACT

LEAD-K does not require kids or families to learn ASL! Families must be offered testing and other information and resources in English, in ASL, or in BOTH LANGUAGES!

Myth #2

LEAD-K takes away parents’ rights!

FACT

Under federal law, ANY assessment must be performed with parental consent. LEAD-K expands resources available to parents.

 

Myth #3

 

LEAD-K places too much responsibility on educators!

 

FACT

Assessments and services are required under federal law.

LEAD-K gets needed resources to educators to help them do their jobs more easily!

Myth #4

 

LEAD-K takes control away from local special education entities.

FACT

The volunteer advisory committee can’t encroach on the authority of the local IEP and IFSP teams.

The advisory committee will merely identify resources to be made available for local districts and special education teams.

Myth #5

 

These expert-recommended tests won’t be right for ALL our kids particularly those who speak a different native language!

FACT

 

LEAD-K does not eliminate assessments designed for other languages or for other disability needs it adds to those options! Under federal law, assessments must be conducted in the native language of the child or family.

 

Frequently Asked Questions

in America Sign Language

come with English captions.

How can you support SB 354 and HB 3253?

CALL TO ACTION!

Senate Education Committee

Ask them to support SB 354

Send ALL of them

 (Copy & paste this letter to your email)  

 Be sure to put down subject line such as “Support SB 354”

 Include your full name and home address so it is clear that you are a constituent. 

 Replace yellow highlight.

 Do send an individual email. 

** Do not copy other representatives or send a mass e-mail! **

 No special layouts or graphics. Do not include attachments.

Larry Taylor

Email:  Larry.taylor@senate.texas.gov​

Phone: (512) 463-0111​

Eddie Lucio, Jr.

Email:  Eddie.lucio@senate.texas.gov

Phone: (512) 463-0127​

Paul Bettencourt

Email:  Paul.Bettencourt@senate.texas.gov

Phone: (512) 463-0107​

Donna Campbell

Email: Donna.campbell@senate.texas.gov

Phone: (512) 463-0125​

Bob Hall

Email:  Bob.hall@senate.texas.gov​

Phone: (512) 463-0102​

Please reload

Bryan Hughes

Email:  Bryan.hughes@senate.texas.gov

Phone: (903) 569-8880​

Kel Seliger

Email:  Kel.seliger@senate.texas.gov

Phone: (512) 463-0131

Van Taylor

Email:  Van.taylor@senate.texas.gov

Phone: (512) 463-0108

Carlos Uresti

Email:  Carlos.uresti@senate.texas.gov

Phone: (512) 463-0119

Royce West

Email:  Royce.west@senate.texas.gov 

Phone: (512) 463-0123

Don Huffines

Email:  Don.Huffines@senate.texas.gov

Phone: (512) 463-0116

Please reload

Public Education Committee

Ask them to support  HB 3253

Send ALL of them

 (Copy & paste this letter to your email)  

 Be sure to put down subject line such as “Support HB 3253”

 Include your full name and home address so it is clear that you are a constituent. 

 Replace yellow highlight.

 

 Do send an individual email. 

** Do not copy other representatives or send a mass e-mail! **

 No special layouts or graphics. Do not include attachments.

Dan Huberty

Email:  Dan.huberty@house.texas.gov

Phone: (512) 463-0520

Diego Bernal

Email:  Diego.bernal@house.texas.gov

Phone: (512) 463-0532

Alma Allen

Email:  Alma.Allen@house.texas.gov

Phone: (512) 463-0744

Dwayne Bohac

Email:  Dwayne.bohac@house.texas.gov

Phone: (512) 463-0727

Joe Deshotel

Email: Joe.deshotel@house.texas.gov

Phone: (512) 463-0662

Please reload

Harold V. Dutton, Jr.

Email:  Harold.dutton@house.texas.gov

Phone: (512) 463-0510

Lance Gooden

Email:  Lance.gooden@house.texas.gov

Phone: (512) 463-0458​

Ken King

Email:  Ken.King@house.texas.gov

Phone: (512) 463-0736​

Linda Koop

Email:  Linda.koop@house.texas.gov

Phone: (512) 463-0454

Morgan Meyer

Email:  Morgan.meyer@house.texas.gov

Phone: (512) 463-0367

Gary VanDeaver

Email:  Gary.vandeaver@house.texas.gov

Phone: (512) 463-0692

Please reload

Also contact legislators in your district too!
 

1) Go to this link (must enter full address)  www.fyi.legis.state.tx.us/Home.aspx

 

2) Put down who is your Texas State Senator and Texas State Representative.

 

- Texas State Senator: SB 354   (Copy & paste this letter to your email)   * Replace yellow highlight.

- Texas State Representative: HB 3253  (Copy & paste this letter to your email)   * Replace yellow highlight.

3) Click on the hyperlink of their name and it will redirect you to their website.

 

4) Click on the email and fill out the information.

 

5) Copy and paste the letter into the body of email section.

IMPORTANT:

- Be sure to put down subject line such as Support SB 354”  or  "Support HB 3253"

- Include your full name and home address so it is clear that you are a constituent. 

Do send an individual email. Don't copy other representatives or send a mass e-mail!

- No special layouts or graphics. Do not include attachments!

Follow us on social media!
  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Twitter - Grey Circle
  • Instagram - Grey Circle

The LEADK Texas campaign wants to help Deaf and Hard of Hearing (DHH) children in Texas from birth to eight years old by making sure they are Kindergarten-ready and ensuring their parents have access to language assessments to better monitor their DHH child's academic and linguistic progress.

Contact us!

 

 

Email: info@txad.org

​​​

© 2017 LEADK Texas

Website designed by Stephanie Garrison

www.histephani.com

This site was designed with the
.com
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now